Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In this tutorial, we will discuss in detail the options that you can set when sharing. It is about the permissions that someone gets for the files or folders. In Research Drive, you can determine what a person with whom you share (internal or external) can do with the files or folders. We will describe a few scenarios below and indicate which options you could best use.


Overview of permissions
  • Can share: If you enable this option, the person with whom you share the files and folders can also share them with someone else.
  • Can edit: If you enable this option, the person with whom you share can change the files and folders, delete them and create new files in a folder.
  • Create: If you disable this option, the person with whom you share will not be able to create new files in a folder.
  • Change: If you disable this option, the person with whom you share cannot change the file.
  • Delete: If you disable this option, the person with whom you share cannot delete the file or folder.
Scenario 1: The person with whom you share may do anything with the files and folders

If you share a file or folder, this is the default setting. You  trust the person with whom you share and this person may perform any operation on the folder or file including deletion, see the example below:




Scenario 2: The person with whom you share may do anything with the files but may not share them with anyone else

In the previous scenario, the person with whom you shared the files or folders have all permissions. In this scenario, this person can edit (create/change/delete) files and folder, but cannot share the files or folders with a third person via Research Drive.




Scenario 3: The person with whom you are sharing may only view the files, not edit or share them

In this scenario, you only share a file or a folder so that the person with whom you share can view the files but cannot change or delete them.





Scenario 4: The person with whom you share may not delete files, but may modify them

In this scenario, the person with whom you share files or folders is allowed to edit but not delete the files or folders.







Scenario 5: Persons are only allowed to upload files, and have no permissions to view or modify them

In this scenario, persons are only allowed to upload files or folders, and have no permissions to view or modify the files or folders.

A example is the submission of an assignment by students. Students can submit their assigment by uploading it, and cannot view or edit the assignments of other students.

Another example is that you are collaborationg with a couple of external partners and they have to upload their data while the other partners are not allowed to view/edit/download the data.

For this scenario you could use the Drop file function. To let people drop their files (upload only) can be done by creating a public link and choose the option 'Drop file'.