Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 20 Next »

You can view your SURFconext profile on https://profile.surfconext.nl. This page contains an overview of the information that your institution can potentially pass on to services via SURFconext. You can also see which services you logged in to via SURFconext in the past, and which attributes were passed on to the service. Finally, you can completely remove your SURFconext profile on this page.

The My Profile tab

On this tab you can see all attributes that can potentially be passed on to services connected to SURFconext. SURFconext employs a minimal disclosure principle, which means that only the absolute necessary (personal) attributes are transferred to a service. In other words, the service can not ask for more information than strictly necessary to run the service. For example: a certain service only needs your email address to operate, while another service only needs to know if your a student or an employee.


The My Services tab

On this tab you can see all services you ever used through SURFconext and which attributes were passed on to each service. Also, you can find several extra links (if this information is known to SURFconext) to the Terms of Use and the EULA of each service, as well as the help pages and the support email address.


The Exit tab

Through the Exit tab you can completely remove your SURFconext profile. By doing so, SURFconext will remove all information SURFconext has stored about you. Please note that SURFconext does not have access to the infrastructure of the services you use through SURFconext. Therefore, deleting your SURFconext profile does not mean all services you accessed through SURFconext will also remove your data.

Note: to complete the process of removing your SURFconext profile you must close your browser.

After having removed your SURFconext profile you can still use (services connected through) SURFconext. By simply logging in to a service through SURFconext again, a new profile will automatically be created for you. Please note that this is a different profile than your previous profile. This means some services see you as a different user, although you are the same person. In that case, it is impossible to access any data you stored under your previous profile. Please carefully consider the consequences before deleting your SURFconext profile!


  • No labels